Purpose

As I was driving home from Church yesterday a familiar song came on the radio. As I sang along to the words I received a slight feeling a reassurance from an unexpected line. The words are, “Love is the answer at least to most of the questions in my heart…Like why are we here? And where do we go? And how come its so hard?”. This Jack Johnson song, “Better Together”, is a catchy and cute love song but I was drawn to the deeper meaning within the words. The past year and a half I have struggled with these exact questions. What is my purpose? What does this place have to do with my purpose? And am I the only one feeling this way? These lyrics made me think…Maybe my purpose at this moment is simply to love the people around me. To love whole heartedly and unselfishly is so much more powerful then the ability to “land the job” or make straight A’s. I challenged myself to shift my attention towards loving others greater than I love myself. As I dabbled back and forth about getting a blog for some time, this simple reminder from good ol’ Jack Johnson confirmed my thoughts. It was time. I hope to use this page to guide my heart, and the hearts of those reading,to the bliss we will receive when we open our eyes to the simple reminders of encouragement that God gives us every day.

Colossians 3:14 “Put on Love”

3bb86c23dc54d04e888e192a44ee2ac7

 

Leave a Reply

