Christmas Cruise

Have you ever seen the movie Christmas with the Kranks? If you haven’t, check it out. Its no “Christmas Vacation” but its one of the funniest Christmas movies out there. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=riM5fByDteY. Anyway, this was my life… My family tried to SKIP Christmas!! Now this was a very unexpected decision. The Bitzer’s have strict Christmas traditions that we usually take very seriously. If I sound like i had an ungrateful attitude, I did… and it gets worse.  My parents decision to go on this Christmas adventure was based on my grandparents love to travel and diminishing health. My mom’s mother has Alzheimers and her father is physically struggling severely. We arent given tomorrow and my parents decided it was important to make this Christmas extra special for my grandparents. So while I was not “excited” for the cruise, I agreed with them and did my best to change my attitude. In the movie, the Kranks didn’t quite succeed in skipping Christmas, and the Bitzer’s didnt either (more on that below)! However, we did go on the cruise…

As you can tell… We had a great time. There were stressful moments, but that’s part of being a family. This cruise reminded me of something very important. Christmas is not about the traditions, or the  gifts, or the parties. Its about the birth of Jesus Christ our savior and his unspeakable grace. And that in itself can be celebrated at anytime in any place! Christmas is about giving yourself to others, in any way, shape, or form. So no, we did not skip Christmas. If anything, we were able to recognize the Lords sovereignty more easily through the quality time we spent with each other in some of the most beautiful places on earth.  Don’t get me wrong, the Christmas season is one of my very favorites, and I did miss pieces of it! However, we don’t always realize how it can affect us negatively. Away from wifi, E news, and the Christmas morning comparison trap of Instagram, I felt incredibly full. Full of truth, encouragement, and of course frozen yogurt each and everyday. While we may not opt to travel over the holiday again, I am forever grateful for the seven days we spent celebrating each other and more importantly our Lord Jesus.

Leave a Reply

