Life lessons about following instructions

If you refer to my “about me” page, you will read that I am not writer, nor an english major. I am actually a business marketing major at UGA. Six years ago if you were to tell me that was going to be a business major at the University of Georgia I would have laughed in your face. Thats because school has never been “my thing”. I made, and continue to make, decent grades but with those grades comes a decent amount of anxiety. Several times a week I will wake up in the middle of the night, fearful that I have forgotten to submit something correctly, or submit something at all. Usually I log onto my ELC, squint to see the screen without my glasses, realize everything is fine, and go back to sleep. Not tonight!

Pause. Have you ever found a recipe online that just looks too good not to try immediately? Now I am not a cook… but I am the queen of pinterest so theres that. Have you ever gotten half way through the recipe and realize you were supposed to mix the wet ingredients separate from the dry ingredients but you didn’t know that until it was to late because you didn’t read the instructions from start to finish at the beginning? Me either….

Anyway, back to what I was saying… To my surprise, I severely messed up… and with my very first assignment! My social Media Marketing class was asked to begin a blog. Easy, done. We were to submit our first post and comment on another existing post. Easier, submit! What I failed to realized until this very moment was our posts had to be about social media marketing…. (who woulda guessed it?) So now it is 12am and I am sitting in my bed thinking about HOW I am going to relate my previous “Christmas Cruise” post in a post about social media marketing before 3:30pm….. I guess we will find out tomorrow considering this post was supposed to turn into an idea…

Note to self: read the instructions all the way through…. ALL THE TIME.

PS. even in moments like this, moments of stress and “I don’t know how to make this happen”. Remember that it is just school, just an assignment, just game, just a break up. Life goes on and I know I will get it done. That is why I am choosing to set my alarm extra early and go to sleep in peace. That is why I am choosing to Thank God for today, for his grace, and for that tiny reminder. 

Leave a Reply

